THE RED SEA EXPEDITION 2021-2024

Studying corals in the Red Sea, home to the world’s most resistant species

Logbook

The expedition in brief

In close partnership with the Transnational Red Sea Center of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), the Pacific Foundation is participating in a four-year expedition in the Red Sea to conduct the first systematic scientific exploration of the region’s coral reefs.

This mission combining science and diplomacy will run from 2021 to 2024 with the support of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA). It will allow the first “baseline” study of the coral ecosystem in the Red Sea. Its main focus is to establish the current coral mapping and determine the genetic diversity and resistance to climate change of coral species living in these waters.

Learn more
Logo Transnational Red Sea Center

Sailboat & logistics

Fleur de Passion is a former German minesweeper from the Second World War built in 1941 and converted in the mid-1970s. Operated by the Pacific Foundation and sailing under the Swiss flag, this 33m ketch is the ideal logistic platform for this multidisciplinary expedition.

Fleur de Passion has been specially fitted out to adapt the boat to the scientific objectives of the partners. Various equipment and technical installations have been installed on board to ensure that the Red Sea expedition runs as smoothly as expected.

In 2011, Fleur de Passion served as a logistical platform for scientific expeditions on corals in Egyptian waters. In 2017, our sailboat sailed across the Great Barrier Reef as part of The Ocean Mapping Expedition (2015-2019), a 4-year round-the-world voyage in the wake of Magellan which combined science, education and culture.

Context

The Red Sea Expedition 2021-2024 takes place in the context of the Decade of Ocean Sciences for Sustainable Development (2021-2030), a United Nations priority program defined in 2017. Ocean science is “essential for global sustainability and wise ocean management”.

Learn more

The Foundation

With a decade of experience in leading oceanographic expeditions, the Pacific Foundation is pleased to be associated with this prestigious research program, which should provide a better understanding of the human impact on the oceans and raise public awareness on sustainable development issues.

Learn more

L’EXPÉDITION MER ROUGE 2021-2024

Étudier les coraux en Mer Rouge, qui abrite les espèces les plus résistantes au monde

Journal de bord

Le Projet en bref

En partenariat étroit avec le Centre Transnational de la Mer Rouge de l’École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), la fondation Pacifique participe à une expédition de quatre ans en mer Rouge pour réaliser la première exploration scientifique systématique des récifs coralliens de cette région.

Cette mission, combinant science et diplomatie, s’étendra de 2021 à 2024 avec le soutien du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE). Elle permettra d’effectuer la première étude « de référence » de l’écosystème corallien en mer Rouge. Elle a pour but d’établir la cartographie corallienne actuelle et de déterminer la diversité génétique et la résistance au changement climatique des espèces coralliennes vivant dans ces eaux.

Pour en savoir plus
Logo Transnational Red Sea Center
Fleur-de-Passion

Voilier & logistique

Construit en 1941 et transformé au milieu des années 70, le Fleur de Passion est un ancien dragueur de mines allemand de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Opéré par la Fondation Pacifique et naviguant sous pavillon suisse, ce ketch de 33m est la plateforme logistique idéale pour cette expédition multidisciplinaire.

Sur le plan logistique, Fleur de Passion a fait l’objet d’aménagements spécifiques pour adapter le voilier aux objectifs scientifiques des partenaires. La fondation Pacifique a ainsi procédé à l’installation à bord de divers équipements et installations techniques pour assurer le déroulement optimal de l’Expédition mer Rouge.

En 2011, Fleur de Passion a servi de plateforme logistique à des expéditions scientifiques sur les coraux dans les eaux égyptiennes. En 2017, notre voilier a parcouru la Grande Barrière de Corail dans le cadre de The Ocean Mapping Expedition (2015-2019), un tour du monde de 4 ans dans le sillage de Magellan mêlant science, éducation et culture.

Contexte

L’Expédition Mer Rouge 2021-2024 se déroule dans le contexte de la Décennie des Sciences Océaniques pour le Développement Durable (2021-2030) un programme prioritaire des Nations Unies définit en 2017. Aussi les sciences océaniques sont-elles « essentielles pour assurer la durabilité de la planète et une gestion avisée des océans

Pour en savoir plus

La Fondation

Riche d’une décennie d’expérience en matière de conduite d’expéditions océanographiques, la fondation Pacifique est heureuse de s’associer à ce programme de recherche prestigieux, qui permettra aussi de mieux comprendre l’impact de l’homme sur les océans et de sensibiliser le public aux enjeux du développement durable.

Pour en savoir plus